Eid for students is 5th June. ALL Y11 must attend ALL exams


KS3/Ks4—Information and Creative Technology

ICT booklet

The ICT department will have a revamped curriculum as of September 2012. The new curriculum will embrace Computer Science, Programming and Creativity. Giving pupils the opportunities to develop computer science Knowledge, test their programming skills and learn to use industry standard graphics software to showcase their creativity.

dir=”ltr” style=”width: 508px; height: 197px;” border=”0″ width=”440″ cellspacing=”0″ cellpadding=”0″>

Year 7 Year 8
  • E-Safety
  • Flowol
  • Kodu – Games Design
  • Spreadsheets with Macros
  • Scratch – Control
  • Web Design using HTML – Programming
  • Kodu – Games Design
  • Databases
  • Graphics – fireworks
  • Web Design using HTML + Rollovers, Hotspots, Multimedia – Programming
  • QR Codes
  • 3D Design + Google Sketchup

BTEC Information and Creative Technology (ICT)
The BTEC First (NQF) qualifications is designed to inspire and enthuse level 2 learners to become technology savvy – producers of technology products and systems and not just consumers. The qualification will provide  learners with:

  • An understanding and knowledge of how organisations in the information technology and creative technology industries operate
  • The key skills required to work in these industries
  • Key concepts and principles related to the world of information and creative technologies

BTEC First Award (120 GLH)


BTEC First Award (120 GLH)
Unit 1 – On-line World (External Assessment)
Unit 2 – Digital Portfolio (Internally Assessed)
AND 1 optional Unit (Internally Assessed)

Optional Units:
13 Website Development

Core Units
The new BTEC in I&CT contains an essential core of understanding and applied skills which is common to all sizes of the qualification. Developed in close consultation with employers and educators.

Unit 1: The Online World

Will help learners to capitalise on the next internet revolution.

Unit 2: Technology

Systems includes key concepts and processes which form the basis of any technology system and is relevant for many roles in the industry. Core units provide an essential platform of knowledge and applied skills, from which, every level 2 learner can build a flexible progression pathway that’s right for them – be that into further academic or vocational learning, into higher education or into employment. Learners at Award level have the choice of the two externally assessed units in the core, and must take the mandatory Unit 3: A Digital Portfolio. All core units are mandatory at higher levels.

Optional specialist units

A broad range of optional specialist units provides the opportunity for learners to focus more closely on a vocational area, supporting progression into a more specialised level 3 vocational course, academic course or into an apprenticeship.